National, Back Page

BNP leaders Habib, Shahjahan among 15 get 4yrs for violence

Published : 09 Oct 2023 10:19 PM | Updated : 10 Oct 2023 06:08 PM

A  Dhaka court Monday sentenced 15 leaders and activists of BNP-led 20-party and Jatiya Party, including BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia's Adviser Habibur Rahman Habib to four years' imprisonment in a case filed over torching vehicles and preventing policemen from discharging their duties in  Bhatara area  of the capital Dhaka.

BNP Vice Chairman Mohammad Shahjahan, assistant publicity secretary of BNP Central Executive Committee Shamimur Rahman Shamim, and former Jatiya Party lawmaker Ahsan Habib Linkon are among the convicts in the case.

On the other hand, the court acquitted four more accused in the case --- M Kofil Uddin, Din Islam, Mohammad Mamun and Aminul Islam, as the charges against them were not proved. Dhaka Metropolitan Magistrate Mohammad Jasim announced  the verdict in absence of the accused in the case.

All the accused were sentenced to two years for torching vehicles and two more years for preventing policemen from discharging their duties.

They were also fined Tk 10,000 each, in default of which they will have serve two months more in jail.

Defence lawyers for the accused submitted separate petitions seeking adjournment of delivery of judgment, but the court turned those down declaring them fugitives and pronounced the judgment in their absentia.

The court acquitted four others as their involvement with the incident was not proven.

The punishment of the fugitives will be effective from the day of their arrest or surrender, said the magistrate in his judgment.

A group of BNP leaders and activists vandalised vehicles and prevented policemen from discharging their duties in front of Jamuna Future Park in the capital during a political programme on January 4 of 2015, the case statement said.

Following the incident, police lodged a case against unknown people with Bhatara Police Station in this regard.

After an investigation, police submitted a charge sheet against Habib, Linkon, and 17 others on May 12 of 2015.

Related Topics