All Section, Education & Culture

Women’s Mathematics Olympiad held at DU

Published : 09 Mar 2020 06:02 PM | Updated : 29 Nov 2020 11:26 PM

The fourth edition of the Women’s Mathematics Olympiad was held at Dhaka University (DU) on Sunday. Over 260 female undergraduate students from 20 public and private universities took part in the event.

The Women’s Mathematics Olympiad Committee and AF Mujibur Rahman Foundation jointly organised the event to celebrate International Women’s Day. The Olympiad was held at the university’s AF Mujibur Rahman Mathematics building.

Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni was the chief guest and distributed certificate and prize among the participants. DU Vice Chancellor Professor Dr Md Akhtaruzzaman inaugurated the event in the morning.

Director of Women’s Mathematics Olympiad Committee Professor Dr Chandra Nath Podder presided over the prize giving ceremony where DU Pro VC (Administration) Professor Muhammad Samad, Dean of Faculty of Science Professor Tofail Ahmed Chowdhury, AF Mujibur Rahman Foundation Trustee Professor Dr Parveen Hasan and Chairman of the Department of Mathematics Professor Dr Amal Krishna Halder were, among others, present on this occasion.

Professor Akhtaruzzaman urged the female students to play pivotal role for bringing positive changes in the society as well as stopping all sorts of violence against women.

He also called upon the female students to raise their voices against violence and face the evil forces courageously.

The DU VC stressed the need for creating awareness about women’s rights to make the society free from various abuses. We have to make the celebration of “Mujib Year 2020” fruitful through establishment of women’s dignity and rights in the society, he added.

The awardees of the Olympiad are - Swarna Sarkar, Nadira Tasnim, Mushira Tasnim, Shobha Islam, Farida Yasmin, Tasmia Zerin, Ramisa Tasnova, Nuzhat Newari Khan Rivu, Musarrat Rashidi Jyoti and Farabi Iqbal.