National, Front Page

Two new political parties to get EC registration

Published : 16 Jul 2023 11:02 PM | Updated : 17 Jul 2023 01:46 PM

The Election Commission (EC) on Sunday decided to register two new political parties -Bangladesh Nationalist Movement (BNM) and Bangladesh Supreme Party (BSP).

Ten parties, including Gono Adhikar Parishad, were left out of the race to get registration. Only two have picked up for the next round of selection out of 12 parties who sought registration.

Election Commission Secretary Jahangir Alam revealed the information to reporters after a meeting of the Commission at the Nirbachan Bhaban in the capital's Agargaon on Sunday.

Jahangir Alam said the commission took the decision to give registration to the two parties after verifying all the data. A notification in this regard will be issued on Monday, he added.

He said that by July 26, a notice will be published in the newspapers to find out if anyone has any objection over the registration. If any, the objections will be resolved and then the next decision will be taken.

Decision was made about two of the parties that have applied for registration, he said adding that if any objections come, the decision will be taken after hearing.

The political parties who were eliminated in the race are Ab Party (Amar Bangladesh Party), Bangladesh Humanist Party (BHP), Nagorik Oikya, Bangladesh Sanatan Party, Bangladesh Labour Party, Bangladesh Minority Janata Party (BMJP), Bangladesh People's Party (BPP), Democratic Party and Bangladesh Liberal Democratic Party (BLDP).

Related Topics