Sports, Cricket

Tigresses placed in pool B of Asia Cup

Published : 28 Mar 2024 09:14 PM
  • t

The ninth edition of Women Asia Cup T-20 cricket will be held at Dambulla in Sri Lanka from July 19-28 in 2024. 

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) announced the grouping and fixture of the 10-day competition on Tuesday. Bangladesh women national cricket team are in Pool B alongside hosts Sri Lanka, Malaysia and Thailand. 

Record seven-time champions India in Pool A with arch-rivals Pakistan, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Nepal.

The first four editions of the tournament took place for 50-over, followed by the next four in T20 version when Tigresses won in 2018.

Meanwhile, women umpires will conduct all the matches of this edition the tournament. ACC increase the team in Asia Cup to popularize the women cricket in the continent. Though the date is announced but the time is yet to fix. 

Defending champions India will take on UAE in the inaugural match on July 19 in Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, Sri Lanka in Pool A. 

Bangladesh women will begin their campaign against hosts Sri Lanka at the same venue on July 20. Nigar Sultan Joty & Co will play against Thailand and Malaysia on July 22 and 24 respectively. 

The top two teams from two groups will move into last four. The semifinal will be held on July 26. The final on July 28.