Sports, Cricket

Tigers drawn in tough T20 WC group

Published : 21 Jan 2022 08:16 PM

Bangladesh were drawn in tough group in the next T20 World Cup to be held in Australia from October 16-November 13.

Like the previous two editions, Bangladesh this time won't have to play the qualifying round, which is termed as first round. They will now directly play the Super 12, where top eight teams including Bangladesh got direct entry and four other teams will join from the first round. Two-time champions West Indies and one-time champion Sri Lanka will play the first round this time for an entry to the Super 12.

In Super 12, Bangladesh however were drawn in Group 2 alongside subcontinent rivals India, Pakistan and mighty South Africa. Two other teams will join their group from the first round.

The Group 1 comprised with defending champions and hosts Australia, New Zealand, England and Afghanistan. Two other teams will join them from the first round.

Bangladesh will start their T20 World Cup mission, taking on the Group A runners at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on October 24. They then face off South Africa on October 27 at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney before locking horns with Group B winner at the Gabba in Brisbane on October 30. The Tigers then take on India on November 2 and Pakistan on November 6 and both matches will be held in Adelaide Oval.

In the last World Cup in United Arab Emirates (UAE) in 2021, Bangladesh had to qualify to Super 12 by playing the first round in which they lost to Scotland before making the Super 12 with a win over Oman and Papua New Guinea. But in the Super 12 phase, Bangladesh lost all of the five matches.

Bangladesh's T20 World Cup fixture

October 24: Bangladesh vs Group A runners-up, Hobart.

October 27: Bangladesh vs South Africa, Sydney

October 30: Bangladesh vs Group B winner, Brisbane

November 2: Bangladesh vs India, Adelaide

November 6: Bangladesh vs Pakistan, Adelaide