Sports, Cricket

Tigers determined to win T20 series against SL

Published : 03 Mar 2024 09:27 PM
  • t

Bangladesh National Cricket Team is determined to make a winning start to continue their success in the T20 format when they will take on Sri Lanka in the three-match series opener at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium  on Monday. 

The first match of the series starts at 6 p.m.  

The Tigers proved themselves that they are no more a weaker opponents. Bangladesh didn’t suffer any bilateral series since 2022. Tigers won four series against UAE, England, Ireland and Afghanistan in the shorter version over two years.  

Bangladesh had so far played 158 T20 Internationals, won 59 and lost 95 while four matches were abandoned due to rain. 

Tigers played 13 matches against Sri Lanka, won four and lost nine. The series is the chance for the Tigers to improve their T20 record at the home condition against the Islanders.   

However, Sri Lankan are here without their T20 captain Wanindu Hasaranga will miss him for the first two matches as he was suspended for two matches. Charith Asalanka the designated vice-captain, will lead Sri Lanka for the first time but for first two matches.

Hasaranga, who was suspended for two T20Is by the ICC following his run-in with umpire Lyndon Hannibal in the third T20I against Afghanistan on February 21, will be returning as captain for the final T20I on March 9.

Sri Lanka have brought in opening batter Avishka Fernando in place of Pathum Nissanka, who is recovering from the injury he sustained during the series against Afghanistan recently. Legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay, who last played a T20I in February 2022, has been recalled too.

Kusal Perara, one of the inform batters of Sri Lanka was also sidelined due to injury and he was replaced by Nirosan Dickwella.

Bangladesh had to make a forced change after off-spinner Aliss Al Isalm, who was called in the national team for the time, got injured. He was replaced by wicket-keeper batter Jakir Ali Anik.

T20 Squad

Bangladesh: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Liton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Naim Sheikh, Towhid Hridoy, Soumya Sarkar, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Jakir Ali Anik.

Sri Lanka: Wanindu Hasaranga (capt for last game), Charith Asalanka (capt for first two games), Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay