Sports, Cricket

Tigers begin practice for SL series

Published : 27 Feb 2024 08:44 PM
  • t

The Bangladesh national cricket team started its practice session on Tuesday for the upcoming home series against Sri Lanka under the supervision of head coach Chandika Hathurusingha at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. 

Hathurusingha had a meeting with the available national cricketers, including Najmul Hossain Shanto who was appointed Bangladesh captain in all three formats, replacing Shakib Al Hasan recently. 

The likes of Zakir Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam were also in the practice session, among others. The players, who were part of BPL playoffs, weren't part of today's practice session, but Mominul Haque, a player of Rangpur Riders, was seen in the session for some time.

The Sri Lanka series will be Bangladesh's first International assignment in this year. The Lankan side will arrive in Bangladesh on March 1 for three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests.

The series starts with three T20I - which will be held on March 4, 6 and 9 at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. The ODI series will be held at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on March 13, 15 and 18.

The limited-over series will be followed by a two-match Test series, which is a part of the 2023-25 ICC World Test Championship cycle. The first Test is in Sylhet from March 22-26 while the second Test will be held from March 30 - April 3 in Chattogram.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) had already announced the T20 squad and an ODI squad for the first two matches. The Test squad is yet to be revealed. 

T20 Squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Liton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Md Naim Sheikh, Tawhid Hridoy, Soumya Sarkar, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mahmud Ullah, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Aliss Al Islam

ODI Squad (for 1st & 2nd ODIs)

Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Anamul Haque Bijoy, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmud Ullah, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman.