Sports, Cricket

Three-team ODI tourney named ‘BCB President's Cup’

Published : 08 Oct 2020 08:27 PM | Updated : 09 Oct 2020 01:22 AM

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a three-team preparatory ODI tournament to bring the players back to competitive cricket. The event, which starts on October 11, will be called the BCB President's Cup.

In that regard, the BCB released the name and logo of the tournament in a statement to the media on Thursday.

The three teams have been              named after respective captains Mahmudullah Riyad, Najmul Hossain Shanto and Tamim Iqbal khan. Each team will face each other twice in the tournament. The best two teams will play the final on October 23. All the matches will be held at the Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Mirpur and will be a day-night affair.

The competition will feature national team cricketers, players from the High Performance Unit and selected members of the 2020 ICC Under-19 World Cup champion squad.

‘’We have decided to name the upcoming 50-over tournament as BCB President Cup and it will be played from October 11 with the final slated on October 23,’’ said BCB chief executive Nizamuddin Chowdhury on Thursday.

There will be reserve days for every match. To ensure health and safety standards for Covid-19, the players, support staff, match officials and relevant personnel including grounds and facilities staff will be placed in a bio-secure bubble for the tournament.

Bangladesh was scheduled to play a three-Test series in Sri Lanka this month. The visit was ruined as Bangladesh did not agree to the country's Covid-19 protocol. Board chief Nazmul Hasan Papon said domestic cricket would start as there was no national team game. This preparatory tournament is being organized as part of it. All the matches will be shown live on YouTube through pitchvision technology. The final of the tournament may be shown on Bangladesh Television.

The BCB is planning to organize a corporate T20 league with five           teams right after this preparatory     tournament.