National, Back Page

Three more Metro stations to open this month

Operation time to be extended further

Published : 03 Dec 2023 05:31 PM | Updated : 03 Dec 2023 05:31 PM

Operation time of Dhaka Metro Rail will be extended further and three more metro stations will be opened in the month of victory for the convenience of the city commuters. 

As per the plan, the metro rail currently operating on Uttara- Motijheel route from 7:00am to 12:00am will run till 8:00pm. Besides, before the Victory Day, Bijoy Shoroni Station will be opened and gradually Karwan Bazar and Shah Bagh stations will come into operation. 

The Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) made the announcement which comes as a welcome relief for the city dwellers who have been eagerly waiting for opening of the remaining metro rail stations.  The metro rail has already reduced travel time of the commuters. Once the operation time is extended, city dwellers will get respite from traffic congection at night.

During a visit to Bijoy Sharani and Dhaka University stations, it was found that those stations are fully ready for openong. Escalators, elevators, stairs and other things, including ticket counters, are fully functional. 

At the Karwan Bazar station, it was found that platform-related works nears completiopn, DMTCL is optimistic that they will be able to open the all the stations by the end of this month.  At present, as per the plan Uttara to Motijheel Metro will operate from 7:30am to 8:30pm. Considering all the aspects, MRT Line Six will run on schedule from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm.