National, Back Page

Third-phase UP polls Nov 28

Published : 14 Oct 2021 10:11 PM | Updated : 16 Oct 2021 11:32 AM

The Election Commission (EC) on Thursday announced the schedule for elections to 1007 Union Parishads (UP) and 10 municipalities in 10 districts. 

According to the announced schedule, EVM voting will be held in all the 10 municipality elections on November 28.

EC Secretary Humayun Kabir announced the schedule at a press briefing after the commission’s meeting on Thursday.

The 87th meeting of the commission was held under the chairmanship of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda.

After the meeting, Humayun Kabir said, “According to the announced schedule, the last date for submission of nomination papers for the municipal elections is November 2. Nomination papers will be verified and selected on November 4, the last date for withdrawal is November 11. Voting will take place on November 28.

EC Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath, NID DG AKM Humayun Kabir, Joint Secretary Farhad Ahmed Khan and Public Relations Director SM Asaduzzaman were present at the press briefing held at the media center of the election building. 

In the third phase of voting, the 10 municipalities are Laxmipur Sadar of Laxmipur district, Bera municipality of Pabna district, Senbagh of Noakhali district, Pirganj of Rangpur district, Galachipa of Patuakhali district, Ghatail of Tangail district, Tarash of Sirajganj district, Srimangal of Moulvibazar district, Kaliakair of Gazipur district and Nilphamari Sadar municipality of Nilphamari district. 

At present, there are 4,581 Union Parishads in the country. Of these, voting will be held in about 4,500 UPs. In some cases, elections won’t be held in some UPs due to legal complexity. 

Union council elections were held nine times since the country became independent. 

The first UP elections were held in 1973 and the last UP elections were held in 2016. 

Besides, in 1977, 1983, 1988, 1992, 1997, 2003, and 2011 UP elections were held.

Besides, the tenth UP election is being held in 2021. The last time the party symbol was announced for the first time on February 11, 2016, was the ninth UP election schedule. 

Voting was held in 4,275 UPs in six phases from 22 March to 4 June 2016.

Related Topics