‘There is no alternative to quality edn’

“There is no substitute for quality education to meet the challenges of the future. In order to keep pace with the needs of the age, emphasis has to be put on quality education”, said the Chairman of University Grants Commission (UGC) of Bangladesh Prof Dr Kazi Shahidullah.

The UGC chairman said these while speaking as the chief guest at the virtual discussion meeting organized on the occasion of the 10th founding anniversary of Barishal University (BU).

He further said, “We have to plan now where we want to be in the future because we have to face new challenges and move forward. Universities need to ensure quality education as well as quality research. Today's students are the future leaders. Therefore, our teachers have to play a leading role in making them qualified”On the occasion, the national flag and the flag of the university was hoisted by the Vice-Chancellor (VC) of BU Prof. Dr. Md. Sadequlul Arefin and Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities Prof. Dr. Md. Muhsin Uddin on Monday 10 am. 

Later, the VC along with the dean, registrar, president of teachers association, general secretary, proctor, provost, head of departments and others paid respects by laying a wreath before the portrait of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. 

Later, in the virtual discussion meeting, VC Prof. Dr. Md. Sadequl Arefin expressed deepest sympathy to the students injured in the barbaric attack on BU's students on the night of February 16 in 2021 and strongly condemned and protested the attack and demanding immediate punishment of the attackers. 

At the same time, on the University Day, the VC appealed to all the members of the university family, including the people of Barishal, to maintain the stability of the overall activities of the university. 

BU Teachers Association President Arif Hossain, General Secretary Md. Khorshed Alam and others spoke at the meeting. BU Registrar (Additional Responsibility) Professor Md. Muhsin Uddin conducted the meeting attended by teachers, students, officials and employees of different departments of the university.