National, Back Page

Tenure of EC ends today

Published : 13 Feb 2022 09:45 PM | Updated : 14 Feb 2022 03:34 PM

The 5-yaer tenure of the Election Commission led by Chief Election Commissioner K M Nurul Huda ends today (Monday). The Commission was formed on February 15 in 2007.

Four other members of the EC were Mahbub Talukdar, Md Rafiqul Islam, Kabita Khanam and Brigadier General (retired) Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury.

Meanwhile, the process for the reconstitution of the EC was on. In this regard, a six-member search committee led by Justice Obaidul Hassan has been formed to find out eligible personnel for the next CEC and four other members of the EC. The search committee asked all the political parties registered with the EC as well as individuals to propose names. The search committee also held three separate meetings with the country’s eminent citizens for their suggestions.

The search committee will scrutinize all the names and chose 10 of the proposed names, which would be submitted to the President, who will select five names, one for the CEC and four other EC members.

Meanwhile, a day before the ending of the tenure of the present EC, CEC Nurul Huda on Sunday evening called on with President Abdul Hamid at his government residence Bangabhaban.   

Earlier in the morning on Sunday, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda claimed said that he considers himself successful for being able to complete all the elections in the country before the term of the current election commission (EC) ended.

He was responding to a question from reporters during a programme organised on the occasion of issuing Smart National Identity Card emblazoned with "Bir Muktijoddha", launching the Bangla version of the Representation of the People Order (RPO), 1972 and the unveiling of Redrawal of Constituencies Bill 2021 on Sunday at a hotel in the capital. 

Related Topics