National, Front Page

Talks on EC end today with AL participation

Published : 16 Jan 2022 10:39 PM

The dialogue process initiated on December 20 last year by President Abdul Hamid over the reconstitution of the Election commission will end today (Monday).

On the concluding day the ruling Awami League led by its president Sheikh Hasina will participate in the dialogue at Bangabhaban at 3pm, said official sources.

According to sources, at the end of the dialogue process, the President might take an initiative in   reconstituting the EC through a search committee as it was done earlier in 2012 and 2017. 

Biplab Barua, Office Secretary of the Awami League, said, a 10-member delegation from the Awami League will attend the dialogue. Alongside Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, other members of the AL delegation team are party’s general secretary Obaidul Quader, advisory council members Amir Hossain Amu and Tofail Ahmed, presidium members Begum Matia Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Dr. Md. Abdur Razzaq, Lt. Col. (Retd) Faruq Khan, Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman.

According to sources, in order to reconstitute an independent, neutral and credible EC, President Abdul Hamid initiated a dialogue process with the political parties registered with the EC. 

The president had invited a total of 32 registered political parties for the dialogue that began on December 20. Of them, 20 political parties have already taken part in the dialogue with the President.

Parties already took part in the dialogue process include Jatiya Party, Jatiya Somaj Tantrik Dal (Inu), Workers Party of Bangladesh, Ganoforum, Zaker Party, Krishok-Shramik-Janata League, Bangladesh Kalyan Party, Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP), Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, Ganotantri Party, Samyabadi Dal, National Peoples Party (NPP), Tarikat Federation, Khelafat-e-Majlish, Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF), Islami Oikya Jote, Islamik Front, Islami Shasantantra Andolan, Gano Front and National Awami Party (NAP).

Each of those political parties has submitted various proposals to the President for the reconstitution of a new EC. Some of them demanded enactment of a new law so that a permanent solution comes while some others demanded a presidential ordinance in this regard. Besides, many of them also proposed for the formation of a search committee, which would pick up personnel with credibility, neutrality and strong personalities as the Chief Election Commission or other members of the EC.  

On the other hand, seven parties, including BNP declined to take part in the dialogue. Other six parties are Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB), Islami Andolan Bangladesh, Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal, LDP, JSD and Biplabi Workers Party.

According to sources, after the dialogue, a 'search committee' will be formed. The committee will propose the names of eligible persons to the President for the formation of a new EC. The president will choose five personalities from the proposed names. The next 13th National Parliament Election in 2023 will be held under this new EC.

President's Press Secretary Joynal Abedin said, "The President's talks with the political parties will end today, January 17. Then a search committee will be formed."