Symbols distributed among NCC candidates

Published : 28 Dec 2021 09:48 PM

The election commission of Narayanganj City Corporation distributed symbols among the seven mayor candidates, one hundred forty eight general councilor candidates and thirty five women reserve candidates on 28 December, 2021.

Awami League nominated senior vice president of Narayanganj district Awami League as well as last 18 years undefeated mayor Dr. Selina Hayat Ivy got her party symbol ‘Boat’, independent candidate who belongs BNP politics also BNP chairperson’s political advisor as well as convener of Narayanganj district unit BNP advocate Taimur Alam Khandoker got ‘Elephant’, Islami Andolon of Bangladesh nominated Mufti Masum Billah got his party’s symbol ‘Hand Fan’, Bangladesh Kalyan Party nominated Md Rashed Ferdous got ‘Wrist Watch’, Khelafot Majlish nominated ABM Sirajul Mamun got ‘Wall Clock’, Bangladesh Khelafot Andolon nominated Jasimuddin got ‘Banyan tree’ and independent candidate Kamrul Islam Babu got ‘Horse’ as their election symbols. District election officer Matiur Rahman confirmed the information.

The total 7 mayor candidates, general ward councilor candidates 148 and women reserve candidates 35 would be vie in the 27 wards of Narayanganj City Corporation on January 16 in 2022.

A total of 5, 17, 357 voters of which 2, 59, 834 male voters and 2, 57, 519 female voters are waiting for the expected polling day.

Election office sources claimed that 187 vote centers in which 1,301 booths and 95 temporary booths would be set up to collect the votes.

After getting the election symbols two heavy weight candidates Dr. Selina Hayat Ivy and Adv. Taimur Alam Khandoker brought out possessions and paraded on main roads in Narayanganj City Corporation area.