Sylhet Division Journalists Association floated

A new platform for the journalists of Sylhet division working in the capital has been floated following the announcement of a new committee. 

Azizul Parvez of Daily Kaler Kantho and Jharna Moni of Daily Bhorer Kagoj have been elected as president and general secretary of the organisation named Sylhet Division Journalists Association, Dhaka. The committee was announced on Wednesday (February 10, 2021).   

Other office bearers of the 21-member committee of the Sylhet Division Journalists Association, Dhaka are vice presidents Mohiuddin Palash, Nesarul Haque Khokon of Daily Jugantor and Nizamul Haque Bipul of Daily Bangladesh Praritidin; joint secretaries Sakhawat Kawsar of Daily Bangladesh Praritidin, Abdul Kalam of Daily Naya Diganta and Ali Ibrahim of Daily Bhorer Kagoj; organising secretary Shafi Uddin Ahmed of Asian TV, finance secretary Rahim Sheikh of Daily Janakantha, education, training and research secretary Abhijit Bhattacharjya of Daily Bhorer Kagoj, international affairs secretary Mizanur Rahman of Daily Manab Zamin, sports secretary Ehsanul Haque Jasim of Daily Bangladesh Post, public welfare secretary Swapna Chokroborty of Daily Shomoyer Alo, cultural affairs secretary Mausumi Acharjay of SA TV, office secretary Selim Ahmed of Daily Manobkantha and publicity and publication secretary Khalilur Rahman of Daily Inqilab. Four other executive committee members are Basir Jamal of Daily Manobkantha, Salman Tareque Sakil of Dhaka Tribune, MM Mashuk of Daily Amader Somoy and Kazi Suman of Daily Manab Zamin. 

It was said that an advisory committee would be formed as soon as possible where senior journalists of Sylhet region will be incorporated. 

However, the new committee will prepare a complete member list of the association, arrange a conference and picnic and some other tasks within a year.