Sports, Cricket

Steve Smith receives fourth AB Medal

Published : 30 Jan 2023 07:54 PM

As a four-time winner of the Allan Border Medal, which is the most prestigious honor in Australian cricket, Steve Smith has joined other sporting giants Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke as four-time winner.

At the Australian Cricket Awards, the batsman received 171 votes, defeating Travis Head (144) and David Warner (141) for the prize.

Smith, who won the award in 2015, 2018, and 2021 as well, reverted to his best last year and provided a resounding response to any concerns about his future with 1,524 runs, the most by an Australian.

Usman Khawaja, who scored over 1,000 runs in the year, was the winner of the inaugural Shane Warne Men's Test Player of the Year award, beating out Marnus Labuschagne and Smith. 

Following a season in which she amassed 976 runs across all three formats, Beth Mooney had a memorable night by winning her second Belinda Clark Award.

 Additionally, she was named the Women's ODI Player of the Year.