Sports, Cricket

Soumya, Afif return as BCB announces squad for NZ tour

Published : 01 Dec 2023 06:55 PM

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the squads on Thursday for the upcoming ODI and Twenty20 international series in New Zealand. After playing against New Zealand at home, the Bangladesh team will go on a tour to New Zealand.

Soumya Sarker and Afif Hossain were roped in the 15-member squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand where the Tigers will play three ODIs and as many T20Is starting on December 17.

Najmul Hossain Shanto will lead the side in both series. All-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz has been named as his deputy. 

Experienced cricketer Soumya Sarkar has returned to the team for both formats. The new faces in the ODI team are left-arm spinner Rakibul Hasan and leg-spinner Rishad Hossain as all rounder Afif Hossain returns to the squad. Nasum Ahmed, who was in the World Cup squad, did not have a place in the announced squad. 

Taskin Ahmed and Mahmudullah Riyad are not in the squad also because of their injury. The selectors kept their trust in Tanzid Hasan Tamim in the opening despite a failure in the ODI World Cup. Regular captain Shakib Al Hasan is not in this series. Although Litton Das is in the team

Bangladesh will tour New Zealand after the ongoing Test series as the team will play a three-match ODI and T20I series in this limited-overs tour.


Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Litton Kumer Das, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Rakibul Hasan


Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Rony Talukdar, Tawhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice Captain), Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.