All Section, City

Sommilito Parisad backed candidate's secured President, GS posts in CDTBA election

Published : 04 Feb 2022 10:14 PM | Updated : 05 Feb 2022 01:00 PM

Progressive and left-leaning Sommilito Parisad supported candidates Nitai Chandra Das and Advocate Mohammad Jahangir Alam were elected President and General Secretary (GS) respectively of Chattogram District Tax Bar Association (CDTBA).  Chief Election Commissioner Advocate Mostafa Kamal Monsure declared the poll results of CDTBA early on Friday.

Three panels: one led by the Awami League and pro-Liberation forces backed Chattogram Tax's Ainjibi Somonnoy Parishad, progressive and left-leaning Sommilito Parisad and pro-BNP-Jamaat backed Chattogram Tax's Ainjibi Oikya Parishad participated in the election this year.

Of the total 17 posts, Progressive and Left-leaning Sommilito Parishad won five posts including President and GS, Awami League supported Chattogram Tax's Ainjibi Somonnoy Parishad won eight posts and BNP-Jamaat backed Chattogram Tax's Ainjibi Oikya Parishad secured four posts.

CDTBA sources said a total of 47 candidates were participated for the posts of 17 office-bearers, including nine executive committee members.

A total of 2,029 lawyers out of 2,724 cast their votes. The daylong voting of the election concluded at 4.30 pm starting from 8.30 am on Thursday.

Related Topics