Sports, Cricket

SL arrives in Bangladesh

Published : 01 Mar 2024 08:12 PM

The Sri Lankan cricket team arrived at 12 p.m. in Dhaka ahead of their full series against hosts Bangladesh on Thursday and has already travelled to Sylhet. They began their training for the T20 series on Friday. 

The Sri Lanka series will be Bangladesh's first international assignment this year. The series starts with three T20s, which will be held on March 4, 6, and 9 at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium. The ODI series will be held at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram, on March 13, 15, and 18.

The limited-over series will be followed by a two-match Test series, which is part of the 2023–25 ICC World Test Championship cycle. The first test is in Sylhet from March 22–26, while the second test will be held from March 30–April 3 in Chattogram.

Meanwhile, the Bangladesh national cricket team started their practice session for the upcoming home series against the visitors under the supervision of head coach Chandika Hathurusingha at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Tuesday. 

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) had already announced the T20 squad and an ODI squad for the first two matches. The test squad is yet to be revealed. 

T20 Squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Liton Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Md. Naim Sheikh, Tawhid Hridoy, Soumya Sarkar, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mahmud Ullah, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Aliss Al Islam

ODI Squad (for 1st and 2nd ODIs)

Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Anamul Haque Bijoy, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmud Ullah, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, and Mustafizur Rahman.