Sports, Cricket

Shoriful shines as Dhaka sink Comilla

Published : 19 Jan 2024 08:57 PM

Durdanto Dhaka demonstrated some encouraging performances in both bowling and batting in their opening encounter to overpower the reigning champions Comilla Victorians with five wickets victory.

Pacer Shoripul Islam sparkled in his last spell to claim hattrick to play an important role of Durdanto Dhaka’s winning start in the BPL when the cutter master picked three wickets in a row with Roston Chase and Mahidul Islam Ankon fro ducks and Khushdilshah for 13. 

Durdanto Dhaka sent the holders into bat first after winning toss and Shoriful Islam struck a hat-trick to restrict Comilla Victorians for 143 runs for six wickets.  

Later Dhaka chased the modest target losing five wickets when Mohammed Naim and Danushka Gunathilaka scored a 101 runs in opening stand.

It was the opening match of the ninth edition of the BPL, when there was no any opening ceremony, as in the eight editions of the lone franchises cricket of the country saw a colourful ceremony of every occasions. However, held at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, the defending champions Comilla Victorians in a bid to retain the title saw an early blow losing the opener Litton Das with the scoreboard reading 23 runs.  Litton Das, the captain of Victorians returned to pavilion after scoring only 13 runs from 16 balls. 

Chaturanga De Silva, the Sri Lankan bowling all-rounder, who experienced with playing only two T20 internationals did not have any wicket, got Litton Das out. 

However, after the captain’s departure, veteran Imrul Kayes, accompanied by one down Tohwid Rhidoy retrieved the team with scoring 107 runs from 87 balls. 

Imrul Kayes, the veteran batter played the key role for the Victorians to score a reasonable total when the experienced batter Imrul Kayed scored 66 off 56 balls hitting six boundaries and a couple sixes.    Towhid Hridoy, scored 41 off 42 balls before being caught by Jaker Ali off Tanvir when the reigning champions managed 130 runs in 18.3 overs for two wickets.

Shoriful Islam, who was wicket-less in his first three overs spells, stunned the Victorians with taking Khushdil Shah, Roston Chase and Mahidul Islam Ankon with three consecutive balls.

Khushdil Shah, who hit two towering sixes in successive first two balls of the over, was the first victim when the pacer sent back Roston Chase and Mahidul Islam Ankon for duck.  Later on openers Mohammed Naim and Danushka Gunathilaka’s opening stand 101 runs by 12.4 overs made it easy going for the Durdanta Dhaka.

Mohammed Naim scored a quick 52 off 40 balls with three fours and as many sixes when and Danushka Gunathilaka, who was bit slow accompanied Naim with 41 off 42 balls. But after the opening pair departed, Dhaka struggled a bit due to middle order collapse.  At that stage, after Tanvir got the openers in a quick succession when Mustafiz also struck to take Lasith Croospulle and Irfan Sukkur’s wickets, as Duranta Dhaka finally reached the target just three balls to spare.