Sheikh Rakib Hossain elected Gopalganj mayor

Published : 16 Jun 2022 08:13 PM

Gopalganj Municipal Election-2022 has been completed in a fair and peaceful environment with the spontaneous participation of the voters.

For the first time in the Gopalganj municipal elections on Wednesday (June 15), voting was held non-stop from 8 am to 4 pm through electronic voting machine (EVM).

Returning Officer, Faridpur District Senior Election Officer Mohammad Habibur Rahman has declared Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and her cousin Sheikh Rakib Hossain, uncle of Dr. Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, a re-elected Member of Parliament for Gopalganj-2 constituency, as the winner of the Gopalganj Municipal Election. Newly elected mayor Sheikh Rakib Hossain received 34,048 votes for the coconut tree symbol. His nearest rival candidate Islami Andolan Bangladesh's mayoral candidate Md. Dedarul Islam got 850 votes for the hand fan symbol. 

The total number of voters in Gopalganj municipality, including men and women, was 55,672 and voter turnout in the results analysis was 66% in the mathematical index, he said.

Also reserved ward councilor 1 (1, 2 and 3) Amena Begum, reserved ward councilor 2 (4, 5 and 6) Mahfuza Akter Lipi, reserved ward councilor 3 (7, 8 and 9) Khadija Parveen, Reserved Ward Councilor 4 (10, 11 and 12) Nazmeen Khanam, Reserved Ward Councilor 5 (13, 14 and 15) Asiya Begum.

General Ward Councilor 1 Jobayer Islam Jhantu, General Ward Councilor 2 Md. Alimuzzaman Bittu, General Ward Councilor 3 Rashed Mohammad, General Ward Councilor 4 Roni Hossain (Kalu), General Ward Councilor 5 Khairul Islam, General Ward Councilor: Abdul Jalil Khan, General Ward Councilor Shafiqur Rahman Shukti, General Ward Councilor Md. Ebadul Haque (Palash) without contest, General Ward Councilor 9 Mohammad Nazmul Hasan, General Ward Councilor 10 Sheikh Rashed Ahmed (Rico), General Ward Councilor 11 Md. Kazi Riazul Islam ( General Ward Councilor 12 Al Amin, General Ward Councilor 13 Md. Al Amin Sikder (Kutu), General Ward Councilor 14 Shariful Islam Sikder, General Ward Councilor 15 Niyamul Hasan (Amin) have been elected.

Returning Officer Mohammad Habibur Rahman announced the private results of the Gopalganj Municipality General Election-2022 held at the District Shishu Academy in the evening after the polling was completed on Wednesday (June 15). Gopalganj District Election Officer Muhammad Faizul Mollah, Sadar Upazila Election Officer Rasedul Islam, election winning candidates and their supporters were present in the district along with media 

personnel working in various print and electronic media.

Ordinary voters expressed their gratitude to Gopalganj Deputy Commissioner and wise District Magistrate Shahida Sultana, District Superintendent of Police Ayesha Siddique BPM, PPM, law enforcers and other officials and employees of various agencies for conducting the election in a fair and ­peaceful manner.