Sports, Cricket, Front Page

Shakib propels Tigers to series win

Published : 18 Jul 2021 09:56 PM | Updated : 19 Jul 2021 12:38 AM

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan’s superb 109-ball 96 run innings propelled Bangladesh to a 3-wicket victory against Zimbabwe in Harare on Sunday. With this victory, Tigers now lead the 3-match series by 2-0 and consequently won the series as well.

This innings was a different picture than most other knocks from Shakib as the all-rounder managed to get back into the flow with the Tigers losing wickets at the other end as they were chasing a mere total of 241. In the end, Shakib and Saifuddin’s 69-run partnership for the eight wicket stand took Tigers over the line.

Chasing a mere 241, Tigers were in a spot of bother early in the innings as skipper Tamim Iqbal, who was playing well, fell to an extraordinary catch of Sikandar Raza. Liton was also looking solid at the other end, fell to Richard Ngarava as Tigers saw both openers back in the pavilion. Mohammad Mithun and Mosaddek Hossain followed them as both were quickly dismissed, leaving Tigers reeling at 75/4 after 18 overs. 

Then two experienced campaigners Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah Riyad then steadied the ship and enjoyed a 55-run partnership for the fifth wicket stand. However, Mahmudullah (26) was then removed by Muzarabani. Soon after him Mehidy Hasan Miraz was dismissed as well, which put Tigers under pressure at 145/6 after 32 overs. 

Shakib was the lone fighter for the team as he picked his fifty in the 30th over and took Bangladesh close to victory shores along with Saifuddin. Saifuddin’s 34-ball 28 played a pivotal role in Tigers victory as the team was struggling at 173/7 after 38.3 overs. 

Earlier, Bangladesh left-arm seamer Shoriful Islam bagged four wickets conceding 46 runs— his career best. Riding on Shoriful’s bowling excellence, Bangladesh managed to wrap Zimbabwe for 240/9 in 50 overs. 

Wesley Madhevere was the best batsman for Zimbabwe scoring 56 off 63 balls with five fours and one six. Brendan Taylor (46), Dion Myers (34) and Sikandar Raza (30) also did well with the bats. 

While Shorfiul scalped four for Bangladesh, Shakib Al Hasan took two, and Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mohammad Saifuddin bagged one wicket each.