National, Front Page

Senior journalists suggest next JS polls in phases

Published : 06 Apr 2022 10:00 PM | Updated : 07 Apr 2022 01:38 PM

Senior journalists on Wednesday suggested holding votes of the next 12th National Parliament in phases.

A large number of senior journalists, including editors of different print and electronic media, came up with this opinion during a dialogue with the newly appointed body of the Election Commission (EC).

At the dialogue, the senior journalists also proposed for holding week-long and division wise votes.

The dialogue, which was held for the third time, began at 11:00am at the EC Headquarters.

According to sources, aimed at preparing a road map for the next national election, the EC authorities had invited a total of 34 senior journalists, including 23 editors of different print and electronic media. In response to the EC authorities, 23 senior journalists took part in the dialogue.

The dialogue was held with Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Habibul Awal in the chair.

Those who took part in the dialogue included Tasmima Hossain of Daily Ittefaq, Alamgir Mohiuddin of Naya Diganta, Saiful Alam of Jugantar, Sheikh Nazrul Islam of Pratidin Sangbad, Kamrul Islam Khan, Shyamal Dutt, Altamash Kabir, Dulal Ahmad Chowdhury, Dr. Md. Golam Rahman, KM Belayet Hossain, Nurul Kabir, Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury, Enam Ahmed, Farida Yasmin, Anisul Haque, Shahjahan Sardar, Bibhuranjan Sarkar, Mahbub Kamal, Ajay Dasgupta, Abu Saeed Khan, Sohrab Hasan, Syed Ashfaqul Haque, and Kazi Abdul Hannan.

It should be mentioned that the tenure of the past EC led by KM Nurul Huda ended on February 14. 

Meanwhile, the government formed a six-member search committee, which had recommended 10 names for the posts of the Chief Election Commissioner and four other EC members.

Later, the President of the state, M Abdul Hamid appointed Kazi Habibul Awal as the CEC and while former district and sessions judge Rashida Sultana, Brig Gen (retd) Md Ahsan Habib Khan, former EC secretary Md Alamgir and former senior secretary of the Energy and Mineral Resources Division Anisur Rahman were appointed as the EC members. The newly appointed EC body led by Kazi Habibul Awal took oath on February 27.  

Related Topics