Oil & Energy

Sanowar made Atomic Energy Commission’s new chair

Published : 04 Jan 2020 08:16 PM | Updated : 07 Sep 2020 04:26 PM

Professor Dr Md Sanowar Hossain has been appointed the Chairman (current charge) of Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission (BAEC).  Prior to the promotion, he was the Member (Bioscience) of the organisation, said a circular issued by the Ministry of Science and Technology on Wednesday.

Dr Hossain said, his firm determination to uphold and strengthening the activities of BAEC in the coming days towards the fulfillment of Sonar Bangla as dreamt by our father of the Nation

Sanowar Hossain was born in Bhadra village of Nagarpur upazila in Tangail. He joined Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission on March 1 in 1990 as a medical officer. He obtained MBBS from Rajshahi Medical College. He also obtained postgraduate Diploma from the Institute of Nuclear Medicine, BSMMU and FRCP from Royal College of Physicians Edinburgh, UK. Hossain has published more than 140 research papers in national and international journals.