Saleh-Mukta panel wins BSMRSTU election

Published : 30 Jan 2023 08:09 PM

‘Saleh Ahmmed-Zakia Sultana Mukta’ panel has swept the Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University Teachers Association (BSMRSTUTA) election winning 12 of the 15 executive committee posts for the year 2023.

The voting for the BSMRSTUTA election was held at BSMRSTU teachers club from 10.00am to 4.00pm on Sunday.

Saleh Ahmmed-Zakia Sultana panel and Kamal Hossain-Mahbubul Alam panel compete in the election. Associate Professor Dr. Md. Saleh Ahmmed of Computer Science and Engineering department was elected president securing 99 votes while his competitor Dr. Kamal Hossain got 93 votes.

Assistant Professor Zakia Sultana Mukta of Bangla department, won the post of general secretary with 105 votes, defeating Mahbubul Alam who secured 85 votes.

The other office bearers are Md. Fayekuzzaman Miah as vice president, Md.Badrul Islam as joint secretary, Dr. Md. Golam Ferdous as  treasurer, Dr. Md. Arifuzzaman Rajib as publicity secretary and Md. Solaiman Hossain Mintu as office secretary.

Among the 8 executive members five are elected from Saleh Ahmmed-Zakia Sultana panel and three are from Kamal Hossain- Mahbubul Alam panel. The eight elected member are Dr. Mohammad Ali, Dr. Md. Abdur Rahim, Md. Mortuza Ahmed, Habibur Rahman, Dr. Samir Chandra Roy, Sohana Sultana, Mehedi Hasan Babu and Hur-E Zannat.