Sports, Cricket

Rizwan, Mosaddek give Comilla 7th consecutive win in BPL

Published : 04 Feb 2023 08:45 PM

Comilla Victorians won by six wickets against Chattogram Challengers in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, in Mirpur on Saturday.

Mohammad Rizwan's sensible half-century and Mosaddek Hossain's cautious batting guided Comilla to chase 157 runs with six wickets and one over to spare.

Rizwan hit five boundaries and two sixes in his innings of 61 run off 47 balls while Mosaddek hit three fours and a six in his 37 runs.

Despite the dismissals of Skipper ImrulKayes (15) and Shykat Ali (15), the Victorians were able to secure the seventh-straight win in BPL.

Ziaur Rahman and Mrittunjoy Chowdhury each took two wickets for the Challengers, but it was not enough to stop the Victorians' charge.

Earlier, Chattogram posted 156-7 after the accumulated 20 overs. Thanks to Afif Hossain for his crucial fifty for Chattogram, he smashed 66 off 49 deliveries including six 4's and a couple of sixes.

Opener Usman Khawaja also contributed 52 in 41 balls hitting four boundaries and three sixes. Following his dismissal, Afif took the charge of the game and carried the side to cross the 150-run mark.

Hasan Ali and Tanvir Islam each took two wickets and Shykat Ali got one for Comilla.