Sports, Cricket

Rangpur clinch NCL title

Published : 16 Nov 2022 08:03 PM

Rangpur Division won their second National Cricket League (NCL) title on Wednesday with a five-wicket victory over Sylhet Division at the Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogura on the third day of their Tier 1 sixth-round game.

Rangpur managed to cross the line in the first session of Day 3's chase of a paltry 88-run target.

Rangpur openers Myshukur Rahman (1 off 7) and Abdullah Al Mamun (10 for 16) were both dismissed early by Sylhet pacers Ebadot Hossain and Rejaur Rahman Raja of Sylhet.

With no scoreboard pressure, Rangpur were never really in trouble as Rishad Hossain's 20 and Mim Mosaddeak's unbeaten 29 saw them cross the line in 23.3 overs in their second innings.

Earlier, inspired by a five-wicket haul from pacer Robiul Hoque, Rangpur, who only needed to draw this game for clinching the title, bundled out Sylhet for just 107 in their first innings. 

In reply, Rangpur managed 188 all out despite Sylhet pacers Ebadot and Raja taking nine wickets combined. 

Thanks to another concerted bowling effort from Rangpur, Sylhet were bundled out for 168 in their second innings, setting a paltry target which was eventually achieved convincingly by the Akbar Ali-led side.