Sports, Cricket

Rangpur beat Comilla

Published : 30 Jan 2024 09:27 PM

Former champions Rangpur Riders registered third victory in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T-20. Skipper Nurul Hasan’s side win over defending Champions Comilla Victorians by eight runs in a thrilling encounter at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet on Tuesday. 

Azmatullah Omarzai's late blitz guided Rangpur Riders to score 165-5. 

Opener Babar Azam faced a tough challenge against the Comilla spinners but managed a run-a-ball 37, setting a steady but slow pace for Rangpur.  Fazle Mahmud, in his first T20 appearance in nearly a year, displayed confidence with a composed 30 off 21 balls. However, left-handed batsman Shamim Hossain struggled at number four, scoring a laborious 14 off 18 deliveries.

The responsibility once again fell on Omarzai to provide Rangpur with a strong finish. The right-hander showcased his power with three fours and two sixes, accumulating an unbeaten 36 from 20 balls.

Mohammad Nabi (13 off seven) and captain Nurul Hasan (15* off six) provided crucial support in the middle order, contributing to a formidable total with an aggressive 68 runs in the final five overs.

Rangpur's attacking middle order proved crucial in crossing the 160-run mark. West Indies all-rounder Raymon Reifer claimed two wickets for 20 runs, while Tanvir Islam and Khushdil Shah, the left-arm spinning duo, secured one wicket each.

Mustafizur Rahman, however, proved expensive, conceding 48 runs in his four overs. In response, Comilla faced a slow start, with Mohammad Rizwan and Mahidul Islam Ankon maintaining a run-a-ball partnership.

Rizwan managed 17 off 21 balls. The go-slow approach of number three batsman Mahidul (63 off 54) complicated the equation for Comilla, leaving them with a challenging task in the slog overs. The Litton Das-led side needed 36 off the last two overs.

In the penultimate over, Hasan Mahmud conceded just seven runs, tightening the grip for Rangpur. Despite Jaker Ali's late hitting (18* off four) in the final over against Shakib Al Hasan, it proved insufficient, and Rangpur secured the victory.