Sports, Cricket, Front Page

Rajshahi beat Dhaka in thriller

Published : 24 Nov 2020 10:23 PM | Updated : 25 Nov 2020 12:52 AM

Five-team tourney Bangabandhu T20 Cup is off to a thrilling start, as Minister Group Rajshahi beat Beximco Dhaka by a mere margin of two runs at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday. 

Cricket fanatics witnessed a cliffhanger right at the start of the tournament. Rajshahi’s young gun Mahedi Hasan stole the limelight and pulled off a scintillating all-round display to guide Ministers Group Rajshahi to a thrilling victory over Mushfiqur Rahim’s Beximco Dhaka.

The 25-year-old all-rounder performed admirably with both the bat and the bowl. In a thrilling encounter, Dhaka needed 9 off just 6 balls in the last over. Mahedi took the responsibility on his shoulders and conceded just six runs off the last over. 

Chasing a challenging target of 170, Dhaka fell short by just two runs despite brilliant efforts from skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and batsman Akbar Ali, who scored 41 and 34 respectively. 

Mahedi scalped one wicket by giving away only 22 runs in his 4 allocated overs. Earlier, he struck 32-ball 50 to help Rajshahi post a challenging 169 for 9. The all-rounder had hit four maximums and three boundaries in a fiery innings before falling to Mehedi Hasan Rana.

Chasing 170 runs, Beximco Dhaka did not have a good start. Opener Tanjid Hasan Tamim was batting aggressively in his posture. However, he could not prolong his innings as he was run out.  Yasir Ali, who was batting at the other end, did not last long either and was out lbw.

Naeem Sheikh was looking resolute but his 26-run innings comprised off 2 boundaries and 2 maximums ended after Arafat Sunny dismissed him. After losing 3 wickets for 55 runs, Mushfiqur Rahim and Akbar Ali batted well. Both of them batted responsibly and brought the game under their control. Their alliance was taking Dhaka closer to victory, before Farhad Reza broke their 71-run partnership off 53 balls. Akbar was caught at the boundary line in mid-wicket, as he tried to play a lofted shot. 

Mushfiqur also took his leave after a while. Mushfiqur, who scored 41, was caught behind the wicket as he tried to play a scoop off Ebadat Hossain.

Earlier, Dhaka sent Rajshahi to bat first after winning the toss. Anisul Islam Emon and Nurul Hasan scored 35 and 39 respectively to propel Najmul Hossain Shanto’s Minister Group Rajshahi at 169. For Dhaka, experienced all-rounder Muktar Ali grabbed three wickets for 22 runs.