National, Front Page

Cluster admission tests

Public universities take massive preparations

Published : 24 Sep 2021 10:10 PM | Updated : 25 Sep 2021 05:50 PM

The authorities of 20 public general and science and technology universities are taking preparations to hold the cluster-wise and easy admission system to mitigate the suffering of admission seekers. 

The cluster-wise admission process will start on October 17 and continue till November 1.

Professor Farid Uddin Ahmed, Vice Chancellor of SUST on Friday told this correspondent, “We are well prepared to hold the cluster-wise admission test.”

“Apart from taking preparation to reopen our university, we are also working round the clock to arrange the admission test in the new system. We are hopeful that the students will be able to take part in the admission test in a smooth way,” he added.

“We have already started exercise in order to work out how and in what way we can hold the admission test in smooth and proper way,” Prof. Dr. Mosummath Hosna Ara,  Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Khulna University told Bangladesh Post on Friday. 

A huge number of candidates are expected to take part in the admission test at a time across the country.

When contacted Abu Sufian, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Studies, Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST), said preparations are going on in full swing to arrange the admission test. 

“The cluster-wise easy admission test system at universities will reduce the sufferings of the admission-seekers especially female ones and their guardians as well,” he told Bangladesh Post on Friday.

It has been noticed over previous years during the admission tests in different universities, the students especially the females had to suffer a lot.

A decision to hold the cluster-wise admission was taken earlier at an admission committee meeting held virtually among all 20 vice chancellors of the universities.

As per the new decision, the new cluster system will host four individual examinations for agriculture, science and technology, engineering and general section for all public universities.

The universities which will conduct the cluster admissions tests are:

Islamic University (IU), Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST), Khulna University (KU), Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University (HSTU), Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University (NSTU), Jagannath University (JnU), Comilla University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jessore University of Science and Technology (JUST), Begum Rokeya University Rangpur (BRUR), Pabna University of Science and Technology (PUST), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU), and Barisal University (BU).

However, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET), Dhaka University (DU), Chittagong University (CU), Jahangirnagar University (JU) and Rajshahi University (RU) declined not to follow UGC’s centralised entry test system for admission.

Earlier on August 25, the results of the preliminary application for the integrated admission test of 20 general, science and technology universities were published.

On December 1, 2020, 19 general, science, and technology universities of the country decided to hold admission tests for the 2020-2021 academic year in a cluster system.

Based on three subjects – science, humanities, and commerce – admission tests will be held directly in these public universities. Question papers are to be prepared based on the syllabus of higher secondary exams.

Related Topics