National, Front Page

Pro-AL panel sweeps SCBA polls

Published : 18 Mar 2023 02:01 AM

Awami League (AL)-backed Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Parishad (white panel) has bagged all the posts in the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) election for 2023-24 tenure.

Candidates from Awami League-backed Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Parishad and pro-BNP Bangladesh Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya Panel took part in the two-day elections which ended yesterday (Thursday).

Election sub-committee convener heroic Freedom Fighter Md Moniruzzaman announced the result in the South Hall of the association around 2am today.

Md Momtazuddin Fakir and Md Abdun Nur Dulal were re-elected as the president and secretary respectively.

Pro-BNP Bangladesh Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya Panel nominated former SCBA secretary and senior lawyer AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon and former secretary Md Ruhul Quddus Kazal for the posts of president and secretary.

 According to the announced results, Md Momtazuddin Fakir bagged 3,725 votes for president post while Abdun Nur Dulal was re-elected as secretary getting 3,741 votes.

 The other winning candidates are: Md Ali Azam and Jasmine Sultana as vice-presidents, M Masud Alam Chowdhury as treasurer and ABM Noor-e-Alam Ujjal and Mohammad Haroon-ur Rashid as co-secretaries from the white panel.

 Besides, Mohiuddin Ahmed (Rudra), Moniruzzaman Rana, Shafiq Raihan Shaon, Md Safayet Hossain (Sojib), Md Delwar Hossain, Md Nazmul Huda and Subhash Chandra Das have been elected as members.