National, Back Page

Pro-AL lawyers declare panel in SCBA elections

Published : 11 Feb 2020 08:47 PM | Updated : 07 Sep 2020 07:48 PM

Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Samannay Parishad, a platform of pro-Bangladesh Awami League lawyers, declared its panel on Monday for the upcoming Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) executive committee elections for 2020-21 tenure. Incumbent SCBA president Senior Advocate AM Amin Uddin has been picked up for the president post in the upcoming polls for the second time while Advocate Shah Monjurul Hoque has been nominated to vie for the post of secretary.

Newly-elected Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) Mayor Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh, who is the secretary general of Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Samannay Parishd, declared their names with 12 other members as its panel in the Supreme Court Bar auditorium  Monday afternoon. 

Earlier, Supreme Court lawyers gave felicitations to the DSCC mayor Sheikh Taposh. Other candidates of its panel (White Panel) are Vice-presidents Advocate Shakila Rauswan and Md. Moniruzzaman, Treasurer Advocate Md. Enamul Haque, Assistant Secretaries Barrister Imtiaj Frauqe and Barrister Mohammad Bakir Uddin Bhuyian. Besides, seven executive members of the Pro-Awami League panel are Advocate Md. Tarjel Hossain, Md. Safaet Hossain Sajib, Mahammed Jaglul Kabir, Md. Mosiur Rahman, Mintu Kumar Mondal, Md. Humayun Kabir and Barrister Md. Kamruzzaman.     

The SCBA poll is likely to be held on March 11 and 12. On 5th February, BNP-led lawyers under the banner of Bangladesh Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya (Blue Panel), declared their panel with Senior Advocate Joynul Abedin and Barrister Ruhul Kuddus Kajol for the post of president and secretary respectively. AM Amin Uddin and AM Mahab Uddin Khokon are incumbent president and secretary of the committee correspondingly.