Pro-AL Blue Panel wins DUTA polls

Published : 21 Dec 2020 09:42 PM

Pro-Awami League (AL) Blue Panel have won the Dhaka University Teachers' Association (DUTA) polls uncontested, as no other panel took part in the election.

Acting Dean of university’s Law faculty Prof Rahmat Ullah elected as the president while Prof of Institute of Nutrition and Food Science Prof Nizamul Haque Bhuiyan as general secretary. 

Election Commissioner DU’s Marketing department Professor Zakir Hossain Bhuiyan announced the polls result at the Teachers' Club on Monday. 

Prof Sabita Rezwana Rahman of Microbiology Department was elected as vice-president, Prof Akram Hosaain of Management and Information System department as treasurer and associate Professor Abdur Rahim of Islamic History and Culture department as joint general secretary. 

Prof AJM Shafiul Alam Bhuiyan, Prof Abu Shara Shamshur Rouf, Prof Nisar Hossain, Prof Ishtiaque M Syed, Prof M Amzad Ali, Prof Sadeka Halim, Prof KM Saiful Islam Khan, Prof Muhammad Abdul Moyeen, Prof Chandra Nath Podder and Professor Ziaur Rahman elected as executive committee members from blue panel. 

The order of executive member was set based on lottery system, said Prof Zakir Hossain Bhuiyan. On December 18, BNP-Jamaat-backed White Panel announced that they would not take part in the election due to Covid-19 situation.  The election was scheduled to be held on December 30.