Sports, Cricket

Prime Doleshwar’s first win in DPL

Published : 02 Jun 2021 09:18 PM | Updated : 03 Jun 2021 12:32 AM

Opener Imran Uzzaman struck a blistering 17 ball-40 as Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club registered their first victory in the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League (DPL) with a 19-run win over KhelagharSamajKallyanSamity at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Doleshwar, which shared points with Brothers Union after their first match was washed out due to rain, put up 149-6 in the stipulated 20 overs before their bowlers bowled well to wrap up Khelaghar for 130 in 20 overs.

This was Khelaghar’s second straight defeat, following their 22-run drubbing at the hands of Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club in the first match.

Imran clobbered three fours and fours sixes in a pitch where other batsmen found it tough to go after the bowlers. The second highest run of Doleshwar came from the willow of Saif Hassan who made 28 off 33. Marshall Ayub was the other notable scorer with 21 runs.

Khaled Ahmed and Masum Khan took two wickets for Khelaghar.

However their batsmen couldn’t pose any threat to the Doleshwar bowlers. Kamrul Islam, Rejaur Rahman Raja and EnamulHaque Junior all claimed two wickets to derail Khelaghar’s innings.

No.9 batsman Rishad Hossain was the highest scorer with 19 ball-37,hitting two fours and three sixes. But his knock came at the moment when Khelaghar was virtually out of the game following the top order’s failure. Farhad Hossain made 33 runs while Salman Hossain scored 14.

Gazi to victory over Sheikh Jamal 

Gazi Group captain MahmudullahRiyad and MominulHaque steered the side to their first victory in Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League (DPL) at Sher e Bangla Stadium, Mirpur.

Gazi Group batters scored 156 runs losing three wickets, reaching the target with seven balls in hand. Skipper Mahmudullah and Mominul made half-centurieswhich helped the team to combat the early push as Gazi lost two early wickets of Soumya Sarkar (13) and Shahadat Hossain (13).

Mahmudullah remained unbeaten on 62 runs and Mominul returned scoring 54 runs with eight boundaries. Sheikh Jamal’s Mohammad Enamul picked up two wickets and SalauddinSakil bagged one wicket.

Winning the toss Gazi Group decided to bowl first, they restricted Sheikh Jamal on 151 runs and taking seven wickets. However, the opening pair Mohammad Ashraful and Shykat Ali made a strong start anchoring 69-run partnership.

Shykat (33) was bowled by Soumya, meanwhile Ashraful was dismissed on 41 runs, who was in short of 9 runs for half-century. Then Nasir Hossain (20), captain Nurul Hasan Shohan (11), Ziaur Rahman (21) could not settle down for long in the crease.

Mukidul Islam, Mahmudullah took a couple of wickets, while Nasum Ahmed, Soumya and ArifulHaque took one wicket each.

The DPL resumed on Wednesday after the second round of the league was postponedon Tuesday following inclement weather. With two grounds of BKSP remaining waterlogged, BCB moved all the matches of the second and third round at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium which will now host 12 matches in four straight days with three matches every day.