National, Back Page

New EC announces first election schedule

Polls in CCC, 6 municipalities, 135 UPs on June 16

Published : 25 Apr 2022 09:43 PM | Updated : 26 Apr 2022 02:57 PM

Cumilla City Corporation (CCC) elections will be be held on 15 June.

Besides, elections of six municipalities and 135 Union Parishads will also be held on the same day.

The newly appointed Election Commission (EC) authorities on Monday announced the election schedule.

The elections of CCC, six municipalities and 135 UPs are the first initiative of the newly appointed EC after it was appointed on February 26. 

According to the EC officials, apart from the CCC, the elections of 6 municipalities and 135 union parishad will also be held under same schedule. The voting will be held via Electronic Voting Machine (EVM).

Election Commission (EC) Secretary Md Humayun Kabir Khandaker announced the schedule after a meeting held at the EC Headquarters in city's Agargaon. The meeting was held in the afternoon with Chief Election Commission (CEC) in the chair.

According to the schedule, nomination papers will be submitted till April 17, scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on April 19, the last date for withdrawal of candidature will be held on May 26 and voting symbols will be allotted on May 27.

It should be mentioned that for the first time of the country’s 50 years’ history, the present CEC was formed through a law enacted by the National Parliament.

Related Topics