Party nominees in N’ganj tensed for independent candidates

Published : 29 Nov 2023 09:22 PM

Apparently the political parties nominated candidates are under mental pressure considering the movement of impartial candidates and probable candidates until the withdrawal of the nomination papers date.

For the 12th parliament elections, the ruling party Awami League nominated four candidates in four seats out of five in Narayanganj. On the other hand, the Jatiya Party gave nomination to all five seats here.

In the last two regimes, among five constituencies, three lawmakers were elected from Awami League and the two from Jatiya Party as the both elections and nomination process were an alliance between Awami League and Jatiya Party.

Awami League nominated the candidate in the party single policy and kept vacant in Narayanganj-5 constituency in that AKM Selim Osman, elder brother of Shamim Osman was elected from Jatiya Party.

In the five five constituencies, Awami League nominated four as Golam Dostogir Gazi for Narayanganj-1 (Rupganj), Nazrul Islam Babu for Narayanganj-2 (Araihazar), Abdullah Al Kaisar Hasnat for Narayanganj-3 (Sonargaon) and AKM shamim Osman for Narayanganj -4 (Fatulla-Shiddirganj) constituency. 

The only undeclared seat is Narayanganj-5 in that constituency of Bandar and Narayanganj thana. AKM Selim Osman was a lawmaker in Narayanganj-5 constituency who again informally desired the Boat symbol through the party's alliance election. But the local Awami League leaders have been demanding nominations in all five seats for their party candidates.

Jatiya Party nominated five candidates are Mohammad Saiful Islam for Narayanganj-1, Alamgir Shikdar Loron for Narayanganj-2, Liakot Hossain Khoka for Narayanganj-3, Alhaz Salauddin Khoka Mollah for Narayanganj-4 and AKM Selim Osman is for Narayanganj-5.

Though nomination in a stage declared but some Awami League leaders including people representative resigned their post collected nomination form as independent candidates.

Rupganj Upazila chairman also general secretary of Rupganj upazila unit Awami League resigned his chairman post and collected nomination papers to contest in Narayanganj -1 constituency where Golam Dostogir Gazi is for Awami League candidate.

Besides, a good number of political leaders from Awami League and other political parties are waiting to submit nomination papers as independent candidates.