National, Front Page

Nomination submission amid fest

Deadline expires: Over 2,500 nomination papers submitted

Published : 01 Dec 2023 03:53 PM

The deadline for submission of nomination papers for 12th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) polls slated for January 7, 2024, expired on Thursday amid festivity across the country.

Although the officials of the Election Commission (EC) could not confirm the number of candidates, but different sources said that around 2,500 candidates from a total of 28 registered political parties have submitted their nomination forms to the office of the EC in the capital Dhaka and elsewhere in the country. 

Meanwhile, a large number of independent aspirants have also submitted their nomination forms. 

Even, a large number of leaders from BNP and its allies are also taking part in the election from the AL and different parties and alliances although BNP and some of its allies refused to participate in the election. 

The election will be held in a total of 300 seats across the country.

In the circumstances, people of the country are passing through an electoral atmosphere as most of the registered political parties—28 out of 44—are taking part in the polls. Now most of the political parties are busy with electoral process. 

Many countries and international organisations, including the Commonwealth and European Union, have started sending their poll observers.

Ashok Kumar Devnath, An Additional Secretary of the EC, on Thursday said, the deadline for the submission of nomination papers has already ended at 4:00pm on Thursday and there is no scope for extending the time.

He mentioned that alongside a large number independent candidates, a total of 28 political parties have formally decided to take part in the JS polls.

As per the polls schedule announced by the EC, the 12th JS polls will be held on January 7. The EC will scrutinise the nomination papers from December 1-4. Appeals against the nominations can be submitted from December 5-6 and nominations need to be withdrawn by December 17. Electoral symbols to the parties and candidates will be distributed on December 18 and candidates could be able to run election campaign till January 5.

According to sources, the ruling Awami League has nominated 298 of its party candidates while the Main Opposition in the Parliament Jatiya Party nominated 288 candidates.

Trinamool BNP nominated 230 candidates and accordingly Sammilita Islami Oikya Jote (SIOJ), an alliance of eight Islamic parties, nominated 200 candidates. Those eight Islamic parties are Bangladesh Khilafat Andolan, Islamic Movement Bangladesh, Nizam-e-Islam Bangladesh, Bangladesh Janosheba Andolan, Bangladesh Islamic Liberal Party, Bangladesh Muslim Janata Party, Bangladesh Islamic Democratic Forum and Bangladesh United Islamic Party.)

Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal nominated its 181 candidates.

Liberal Islamic Jote, another alliance of six political parties led by newly registered Bangladesh Supreme Party (BSP), nominated a total of 121 candidates. Other partners of the alliance are Islamic Oikya Jote, Aashiqeen-e- Awlia Parishad, Bangladesh Jana Dal (BJD), National Awami Party (NAP-Bhasani) and Krishak Sramik Party.

Besides, Jatiya Party (Manju) nominated 48 candidates, Bangladesh Nationalist Movement (BNM) nominated 82 candidates while Zaker Party, Gano Forum, National Awami Party (NAP), Samyabadi Dal, Liberal Democratic Party, Bikalpa Dhara, Ganotantri Party, Krishok-Shramik-Janata League and Bangladesh Congress also nominated a large number of candidates.

According to sources, this year a large number of people have submitted nomination papers as the independent candidates from across the country.

The number of total voters in the country this year is 11,96,91,633 while the number of voting centres is 42,103.