RpCC elections

Nomination papers of all 10 mayoral candidates valid

Published : 02 Dec 2022 09:46 PM

The Returning Officer of Rangpur City Corporation (RpCC) elections-2022 has declared nomination papers of all ten contending candidates for the mayoral post valid after completing scrutiny.

"Nomination papers of all 10 mayoral candidates are valid," Returning Officer for RpCC elections-2022 and Joint Secretary of Election Commission Abdul Baten said in a press briefing after the scrutiny at Rangpur District Shilpokola Academy auditorium on Thursday evening.

He said nomination papers of all 10 mayoral post candidates are valid as those were duly filled with no errors in affidavits, accurate information related to cases, educational qualifications and party certificates.

The valid 10 RpCC mayoral post candidates are: Awami League nominated Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia, Jatiya Party nominated Md. Mostafizur Rahman, Md Amiruzzaman (Islami Andolan Bangladesh), Md Abu Raihan (Bangladesh Congress), Md Latifur Rahman (Independent), Md Tauhidur Rahman Mondal (Khelafat Majlish), Md Shafiar Rahman (Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal- JASOD), Md Ataur Zaman Babu (Independent), Md Mehedi Hasan (Bony) (Independent) and Md Khorshed Alam (Zaker Party).

However, nomination papers of seven candidates out of 198 for general councilor posts and 29 candidates out of 69 for reserved women councilor posts were cancelled during scrutiny for various reasons.

A total of 36 nomination papers, out of a total of 277 submitted nomination papers, have been cancelled during scrutiny.

"After scrutiny of nomination papers, a total of 241 candidates including ten for the mayoral post, 169 for general councilor posts in all 33 wards and 62 for reserved women councilor posts in 11 reserved wards are now eligible to vie for the RpCC polls," he said.

The last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is December 8 next.

The poll symbols would be allocated on December 9 and RpCC elections will be held from 8 am to 40 on December 27 next.

The Returning Officer said Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in all polling centers in the third Rangpur City Corporation elections.

"Every polling station will be covered by CCTV cameras," he said and sought cooperation of all political parties, competing candidates and journalists for holding Rangpur City Corporation elections peacefully.

Rangpur Regional Election Officer GM Sahatab Uddin, Senior District Election Officer of Rangpur Farhad Hossain and related assistant returning officers were present in the process of scrutiny of nomination papers.