‘No power can undo united Awami League’

Published : 11 Jun 2023 09:42 PM

Bangladesh Awami League organizing secretary Mirza Azam MP said that there is no power that can defeat a united Awami League. 

“The next national parliament election will be a peaceful election. In the upcoming election, party leader Sheikh Hasina will nominate candidate who is most acceptable to you and popular.” He said these while addressing at the tri-annual conference of Munshiganj Sadar Upazila Awami League at Munshiganj Bir Shrestha Lt. Matiur Rahman Stadium on Saturday.

Sheikh Hasina should be elected as Prime Minister again in the next elections. He also said that the killing of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu in 1975 is the identity of Ziaur Rahman, the founder of BNP. 

“Murderer Zia hanged 1300 officers of the Bangladesh Army, Navy and Air Force. Zia killed the spirit of liberation war.” He said.

He also said that as long as Ziaur Rahman was in power, freedom fighters could not identify themselves in government offices and courts. 

The tri-annual conference was inaugurated by the District A-League President and District Council Chairman Alhaj Mohammad Mohiuddin. Advocate Mrinal Kanti Das, Member of Parliament of Munshiganj-3 Constituency and Bangladesh Awami League's Liberation War Affairs Secretary and Central Awami League's Legal Affairs Secretary Advocate Kazi Najibullah Hiru spoke as special guests at the conference.

Sheikh Lutfar Rahman, General Secretary of District Awami League, was the main speaker. District A-League Joint General Secretary Advocate Sohana Tahmina and Munshiganj Municipal Mayor Haji Mohammad Faisal Biplab spoke as special speakers.

President of Sadar Upazila Awami League Afsar Uddin Bhuiya and general secretary Shamchul Kabir Master spoke under the chairmanship of Engineer Kazi Wahid, Chairman of Tongibari Upazila Parishad, and President of Srinagar Upazila Awami League. Tofazzal Hossain, Ghazaria Upazila Awami League General Secretary Mansoor Ahmed Khan Jinnah, Sadar Upazila Parishad Vice Chairman Nazmul Hasan Sohel, Mirkadim Municipal League President Shahidul Islam Shaheen.

District Chhatra League President Faisal Mridha gave a welcome speech. Sadar Upazila Awami League Office Secretary Md presented the organizational report. Milton and Condolences were presented by Vasudev Nag, Publicity and Publications Secretary.

Later in the afternoon, the final session began at the District Arts Academy. District Awami League President Alhajj Md Mohiuddin Sadar announced the name of Awami League President and General Secretary with the consent of the councils in the session. Alhajj Afsar Uddin Bhuiyan was elected as the president of Munshiganj Sadar Upazila Awami League for the fourth time and Md. Samchul Kabir Master was elected as the general secretary for the third time.