National, Back Page

No fail, no pass in cluster entry test

Published : 08 Dec 2020 09:58 PM | Updated : 09 Dec 2020 01:22 AM

No student will be given ‘fail’ or ‘pass’ in the cluster system admission test for the academic year 2020-2021 in 19 public universities.

The admission committee will only give the marks obtained by the respective students in the examination. Later, the students will get the opportunity to get admission in the university on the basis of that marks.

When contacted on Tuesday, Jagannath University Vice Chancellor (VC) Mizanur Rahman, also the joint convener of the Central Admission Test Committee confirmed it to Bangladesh Post.

Earlier on December 1, nineteen general, science, and technology universities of the country were scheduled to hold cluster system admission tests for the new academic year.

The universities of this group would have to publish advertisements ahead regarding the admission of students, mentioning their respective conditions and demands.

Jagannath University VC Mizanur Rahman further said, “The Central Admission Test Committee comprising the VCs of the respective universities will determine the admission test procedure. The committee will then allot a score to the students based on the admission test. No student will be given ‘pass’ or ‘fail’ in this test system.”

He also said, “Students who have passed Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) in 2019 and 2020 will be able to take part in the cluster admission test.  But, students who passed HSC in 2019 will be admitted as per the decision of the Academic Council of the respective university. Such as, students who have passed HSC in 2019 will not be admitted in Jagannath University. After the results of the central admission test are released, the committee will have no more work. Then, the universities will admit students according to their terms and conditions.”

Students and guardians from remote areas of the country will not have to travel from one university to another during the covid-19 pandemic for admission. Besides, it will reduce the risk of corona infection as well as save the money of guardians.

Last year, the country’s seven agriculture universities had conducted cluster system admission tests.

Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni has repeatedly asked the public universities to conduct cluster system admission amid the pandemic for the last few months.

The universities taking cluster admissions tests are: Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST), Khulna University (KU), Islamic University (IU), Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University (HSTU), Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University (NSTU), Jagannath University (JnU), Comilla University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jessore University of Science and Technology (JUST), Begum Rokeya University Rangpur (BRUR), Pabna University of Science and Technology (PUST), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU), and Barisal University (BU).