Nirmul Committee protests BNP’s remarks over minority community torture

Ekattorer Ghatak Dalal Nirmul Committee strongly protested the remarks of BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir about the torture of minority communities during the Awami League regime, reports BSS.

“We strongly condemn Mirza Fakhrul’s false and fabricated remarks about the torture of minority communities during the Awami League tenure,” said Nirmul Committee in a statement signed by 87 noted personalities, including former judges, writers, rights activists and journalists.

“On December 10, Fakhrul claimed in press conference that BNP did not torture and repress the minority communities during its tenure rather it was Awami league that had tortured minority communities in its regime. It is a shameless statement by Mirza Fakhrul,” they said in the statement.

Nirmul Committee said BNP-Jamaat alliance carried out brutal torture after the 8th parliamentary elections in 2001. Many members of religious and ethnic minority communities, opposition leaders, intellectuals and journalists were killed during BNP-Jamaat’s next five years rule, they added.

They said Nirmul Committee published a white paper in which about 3,000 incidents were mentioned about communal terrorism carried out by BNP-Jamaat alliance in first 1,500 days during its rule.

Some three lakh people from religious minority communities were forced to seek shelter in different countries to save their lives as communal torture and human rights violations were made by BNP-Jamaat from 2001 to 2006, they alleged.

However, torture on minority communities came down significantly during the tenure of Awami League as the present government (AL) has taken initiatives to arrest the responsible persons, they said.

The signatories to the statement included Justice Ghulam Rabbani, Barrister Shafique Ahmed, Justice Syed Amirul Islam, Justice Shamsul Huda, Justice Shamsuddin Chowdhury Manik, journalist Abdul Gaffar Chowdhury, writer Hasan Azizul Haque, artist Jashem Khan, Prof Borhanuddin Khan Jahangir, writer-journalist Shahriar Kabir,                  Prof Muntasir Mamun and Prof Anupam Sen.