All Section, Entertainment

Nipun declared BFAA general secretary

Published : 05 Feb 2022 08:54 PM | Updated : 06 Feb 2022 04:02 PM

Actor Nipun Akter has been declared as the newly elected General Secretary of the Bangladesh Film Artistes' Association by its appellate board on Saturday Feb 5.

Bangladesh Film Artistes' Association Appellate Board Chairman Sohanur Rahman Sohan made the announcements Saturday evening disqualification of bothactor Zayed Khan who was previously serving general secretary and executive panel member Chunnu, through a press conference at Bangladesh Film Development Corporation (BFDC). 

The election of the artistes' association was held on January 28. Zayed Khan won the post of general secretary earlier had committed corruption in the election by bribing the voters complained the opponent candidate actress Nipun.

Read More: Nipun sending iftar to FDC

The actress also held a press conference on these allegations and lodged a written complaint with the Election Appeal Board asking for the cancellation of both Zayed Khan and Chunnu. The Ministry of the Ministry of Social Welfare gave the power to the appellate division to address the issue.  

On Saturday afternoon the Appellate Board Chairman Sohanur Rahman Sohan called a meeting and said, “Zayed Khan would not be the general secretary of Shilpi Samiti anymore. His candidacy has been canceled on allegations of election irregularities and we have found enough evidence to prove that Zayed Khan is involved in bribing the voters and got 2 written complaints from people who have accepted money from the actor. Instead, the other candidate has won without contest”.

Earlier, Zayed Khan had been the general secretary of the Film Artistes' Association for four years and Misha Sawdagar was the president with him then. 

Legendary actor Ilias Kanchan has won the post of president in the last election held on January 28. A total of 428 candidates were listed as voters for this year’s election, while 365 cast their ballots to elect the new executive body. The EC rejected 26 votes for various reasons. Some 184 artistes were excluded from voting in this year’s election.

Related Topics