New PSC chairman Sohrab takes oath

Published : 21 Sep 2020 09:34 PM

Newly appointed chairman of Bangladesh Public Service Commission (PSC) Md Sohrab Hossain took oath on Monday. 

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oath at a ceremony at Supreme Court Judges’ Lounge, conducted by Supreme Court Registrar General Md. Ali Akbar.

Earlier on September 16, the government appointed retired senior secretary Md Sohrab Hossain as chairman of the PSC.

The public administration ministry issued an order in this regard, saying that President Abdul Hamid has appointed him as PSC Chairman.

Md Sohrab Hossain, who was on post-retirement leave (PRL), replaced Mohammad Sadique, whose tenure as the PSC Chairman expired on September 18 this year.

As per the Article 138 (1) of the Constitution, President Abdul Hamid appointed Md Sohrab Hossain as PSC Chairman on condition of deferment of his un-enjoyed period of the PRL and related benefits.

Sohrab’s tenure will be for five years from his joining date or till he reaches 65 years of age.