National, Front Page

Nation prepares to celebrate 50th anniv of independence

Published : 09 Dec 2021 10:22 PM | Updated : 12 Dec 2021 06:26 PM

On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the Independence of Bangladesh and the birth centenary of Father of the Nation, the government, as well as the common people, is preparing for the celebration of Victory Day.

As part of three-day-long programmes from December 15 to December 17, for the first time in the history of Bangladesh, a colorful troops parade would be held attended by troops from five countries. The parade would be held at the National Parade Ground also known as the Tejgaon Old Airport in the capital.

Besides, the Indian President, former King of Bhutan, among other foreign delegates, are expected to join the victory day celebration programmes.

Moreover, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina would administer the oath to all the people of the country at a time across the country.

According to sources, organized by the Ministry of Liberation War, all the preparations for the celebration of this year's Victory Day are underway under the supervision of the Cabinet Division.

The sources said the programmes of this year’s Victory Day celebration would start from December 15 with the arrival of Indian President Ram Nath Kovind and Bhutan’s 4th King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck. 

Not only that a large number of war veterans from India and Russia have also been invited to take part in the Victory Day celebration programmes.   

The main programmes would be held in the morning on December 16 at the National Parade Ground. For the first time, troops from Nepal, India, Russia and Mexico will join the Bangladeshi troops in the parade for the celebration of the Victory Day of Bangladesh. 

According to sources, this year a colorful parade will be held at 10:30 am at the National Parade Square of Tejgaon Old Airport with the participation of heroic freedom fighters, Army, Navy, Air Force, BNCC, Border Guard Bangladesh, Coast Guard, Bangladesh Police, RAB, Ansar and VDP and the Prison Guards.

At the same time, there will be a special fly-past and aerobatic air show of the Air Force. There will be parachute jumps from the flying helicopter. The President and other invited guests will receive the salute of the moving mechanical military contingent and inspect the parade.

Besides, in the afternoon on December 16, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will administer the oath of office to the people across the country. The Prime Minister's Office has instructed the secretaries of all ministries and departments, divisional commissioners, deputy commissioners and upazila executive officers (UNOs) in this regard.

As per the PMO directives, oath-taking programmes will be held on the occasion of the golden jubilee of the Independence of Bangladesh and the celebration of Mujib Barsho simultaneously across the country at 4:00 pm on December 16, the time of the great Victory Bangladesh. People of all classes and professions across the country will take part in this oath.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will administer the oath and she will be connected virtually from the South Plaza of the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban. 

The oath will be taken by joining the main event through a video conference from the Divisional Stadium. Other venues will follow the live broadcast. At that time, everybody will hold the national flag in their hands.

On the other hand, on 16th and 17th December, the central event of the Golden Jubilee of Independence and Mujib Barsho will be held at the South Plaza of the Jatiya Sangsad under the title 'Mahabijayer Mahanayak'. Bangladesh’s President Abdul Hamid and President of India Ramnath Kobind will be present there. 

Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury, Chief Coordinator of the National Implementation Committee for the Celebrating of the Birth Centenary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman said, “Combining the golden jubilee of the independence of Bangladesh and the Mujib Barsho, we are going through a remarkable time in history.”

Read more: People of all religions fought for independence: Home Minister

He said that seven sub-committees have been formed to celebrate this year's victory day. These are, Victory Day Celebration Steering Sub-Committee headed by the Secretary of the Ministry of Liberation War, Invitation and Reception Sub-Committee headed by Additional Secretary (Administration) of the Ministry of Liberation War, GOC of 9th Infantry Division. 

The sub-committee on publicity convenes the GOC (General Officer Commanding) of the 9th Infantry Division of the Army at Savar, the Armed Greetings and wreath-laying sub-committee at the National Memorial Police Management Subcommittee.

Related Topics