Sports, Chess

‘Mujib Barsho’ 1st Div Chess league to Feb 25

Published : 03 Feb 2021 08:44 PM


‘Mujib Barsho’ 1st Division Chess league will begin from February 25 at the hall room of Bangladesh Chess Federation (BCF) at National Sports Council old building in the city, a BCF press release said on yesterday.

This time twelve teams will participate in the league, organized by BCF. The twelve teams are — Manhas Castle Chess Club, Sultana Kamal Smrity Pathagar, Dhaka Knight’s Chess Club, Khelaghor Chess Association, Gopalganj, Basir Memorial Chess Club, Mir Chess Club, Agrani Bank Limited Chess Team, Kasparov Chess Club, Dhaka Chess Club, Rupali Bank Sports Council, Esoft Arena Chess Club and Morning Glory Chess Club, Kushtia.

The number draw and inauguration ceremony of the league will be held on February 23, two day before the start of the league’s matches.

Manhas Castle Chess Club got the participation right from Sonargaon Chess Club, Rupali Bank Krira Parishad got participation right from Legend Faraaz Ayaaz Hossain Chess team and Dhaka Chess Club got participation right from Debdas Biswas Smrity Sangsad to take part in the league.

The game of chess league will be held in a round-robin league system. This year’s first division chess league champions, runners-up and third place teams will be awarded with cash prizes, trophies and medals.