All Section, Politics

Monirul and Anowar nominated for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-elections

Published : 07 Sep 2020 04:58 PM | Updated : 07 Sep 2020 10:55 PM

Kazi Monirul Islam Monu and Anowar Hossain Helal have been nominated as the candidates for bye-elections for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies respectively by the Awami League.

Obaidul Quader, General Secretary of AL declared the final nominations for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies from his government residence on September-7 ( Monday). 

He said, ' On August-30 last a meeting Presided over by the Chairman of Parliamentary Nomination Board Sheikh Hasina was held. In accordance with the unanimous decision of the Board and being directed by the President of the Board, I am declaring the nominations for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies from the party.'

For Dhaka-5 constituency, Monirul Islam Monu and for Naogaon-6 Anowar Hosain Helal got the nominations from  AL.

After the death of  veteran Parliamentarian Habibur Rahman Mollah, the seat of Dhaka-5 constituency was declared vacant. 19 candidates from AL collected nomination forms for contesting the seat while after the death of Parliamentarian Israfil Alam, Naogaon-6 ( Atrai-Raninagar) also declared vacant.  33 candidates from the party collected the nomination forms for the seat.