Mohiuddin, Manjur to face taught battle in Ctg-10 seat

Published : 25 Dec 2023 09:11 PM

The 12th National Assembly elections war has begun in 16 constituencies of Chittagong. Field of Awami League nominated candidates in 7 out of 16 constituencies in Chattogram are much better. Awami League nominated candidates will face a strong fight in the remaining 9 seats. The main fight in Chattogram-10 constituency will be between former mayor Mohammad Manjur Alam and Awami League candidate Mohiuddin Bachchu.  Both of them are heavyweight candidates. Inauguration of the office of former CCC Mayor Mohammad Manjur Alam, independent candidate with ‘cauliflower’ symbol in Rampur Ward No. 25 and publicity in Shulakbahar Ward and exchange of views with people of various professions were held at the main election office. The independent candidate of Chittagong-10 Constituency with the ‘Cauliflower’ symbol Alhaj Mohammad Manjur Alam, former mayor of Chittagong City Corporation (CCC), was seen in the public relations at the main election office in Rampur Ward No. 25 of the city on Sunday. During mass communication in Shulakbahar Ward, he visited Nashirabad Women's College, Nashirabad Girls’ High School, Alfalah Goli, Mayor's Goli, Cosmopolitan Residential Area, Baby Super Market Mor, Tulatali Bazar, Hasni Chemical, Uttara Motors, Maijpara, Balika Mor, Muzaffar Nagar, Polytechnic Area, Khulshi Colony and addressed short road meetings at 15 places including Jhautla Rail Gate area.

Manjur Alam, an independent candidate with the ‘cauliflower’ symbol, said, “People's love and support motivates me to serve humanity. I have been engaged in the service of humanity for the last past 30 years. Please vote for me in the ‘cauliflower’ symbol, I will do my best to serve humanity”. He said, “I served as ward commissioner, acting mayor and mayor for 30 years. During this time, I did not complain of any irregularity from any quarter. I have tried to do human welfare with my earned wealth. My door was open to all and will be in in the future too.  Any citizen can tell me their complaints and demands without fear”. Sardar Shamsuddin presided over the election office opening ceremony. Ali Azgar, Yusuf Sarddar, Mahirul Islam Azad, Mohammad Harun, Khairul Alam, Alhaj Rafiq Ahmed gave speeches.  Mohammad Shahjahan, Mohammad Nashir, Kamrul Hasan, Mohammad Sarwar, Nurul Azim, Mohammad Shaheed, Jaseem Khan, Shamsul Alam, Md Mahin, Md Mamun, Fahim, Hasan Nashir Nurul Amin, Hasan Nashir, Abu Bakkar Siddique and Sarwar Alam. Shahidul Haque, Kamrul Hasan, Mohammad Shah Jahan, Ali Azgar, Khairul Alam, Rafiq Uddin, Shah Alam Mia, Abu Siddique, Abdur Noor, Mohiuddin, Farid Member, Delwar Hossain, Nashir Sawdagar, Nur Hossain spoke, among others, in the publicity program.

The former CCC Mayor Alhaj Mohammed Manjur Alam has extended Christmas greetings to the Christian community. He wished happiness, peace and prosperity to the followers of Christianity.