Misha new president, Dipjol secretary of Bangladesh Artistes’ Association

Published : 20 Apr 2024 08:30 PM

Misha Sawdagar has been elected as the Film Artistes Association's new president for the 2024-2026 term, while Monowar Hossain Dipjol is the new general secretary. Misha Sawdagar received 265 votes, defeating his opponent Mahmud Koli by 170. Monowar Hossain Dipjol won the position of general secretary with 225 votes, defeating Nipun Akter, who received 209 votes but fell short by 17 votes.

Masum Parvez Rubel and DA Tayeb were elected vice presidents with 231 and 234 votes, respectively. Arman, who serves as joint general secretary, garnered 237 votes. Organizing secretary Joy Chowdhury received 255 votes, international affairs secretary Alexander Bow received 296 votes, office and publicity secretary Jacky Alamgir received 245 votes, culture and sports secretary Mamnun Hasan Emon received 235 votes, and treasurer Komol received 231 votes. The Misha-Dipjol panel has elected nine executive members: Sucharita (228), Rozina (243), Ali Raj (239), Subrata, Dilara Yasmin (218), Shahnur (245) Nana Shah (210), Ratna Kabir (263), and Chhunu (248). The Koli-Nipun panel selected Riana Parvin Poly (220) and Soni Rahman (230) for their places. Voting began yesterday at 9:30 a.m. at the Bangladesh Film Development Corporation (BFDC) and ended at 5:30 p.m. Vote counting began at 8 p.m., and Chief Election Commissioner Khorshed Alam Khosru announced the early polling results around 7 a.m.