National, Back Page

Manufacturing of hydro-accumulators of Rooppur NPP underway

Published : 18 Apr 2022 10:27 PM | Updated : 19 Apr 2022 02:05 PM

Installation of internals into half bodies hydro-accumulators for unit-2 of Rooppur Nuclear Power Plant has begun in Petrozavodsk Branch of AEM-Technologies in Russia.

According to a press release of Rosatom, the Russian contractor of the Rooppur NPP, the half bodies were also manufactured in the same facility. These accumulators are part of passive core flooding system (PCFS).

Eight hydro-accumulators are to be installed in each unit of the plant.

Each hydro-accumulator has a capacity of 120 cubic meters is made of stainless steel. It has three shells and two heads.

Ladders and maintenance platforms as well as other internals are installed into the body.

PCFS refers to the second level of NPP passive safety systems.

It is intended for removal of the residual heat of the coolant in reactor’s primary circuit.

An aqueous boric acid solution heated to a temperature of approximately 60 degrees Celsius is stored inside the hydro- accumulators during operation of the plant.

If the pressure in the primary circuit falls below a certain level due to some accident, the fluid automatically flows into the reactor and the active core is cooled down.

Rooppur NPP is being designed and constructed under a Russian project.

The Engineering Division of Rosatom State Corporation is responsible for design and construction of the facility.

The plant will consist of two power units with VVER-type reactors which life cycle is 60 years with a possibility to extend the life cycle by another 20 years.

The capacity of each unit will be 1200 MW. AEM-Technologies is manufacturing the major equipment of the reactor hall for two power units.

According to Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission, the implementing authority of the RNPP, the first unit of the power plant was scheduled to start operation in 2022 and second one in 2024.

But recently the first unit’s operation was rescheduled to 2024 and second unit to 2025.