Malaysia bans travellers from several countries over virus

Nationals from Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Nepal are now banned to enter Malaysia following the earlier ban on flights to and from India announced on April 26.

Senior Minister for Security Ismail Sabri Yaakob said in a statement the latest ban applies to all categories of travellers, including those with long-term social visit passes, business travellers and other visitors, according to reports published on May 5.

But the reports added the ban does not apply to holders of diplomatic passports.

The move comes after the movement control order implementation of Malaysia in several states amid the surge in coronavirus cases in the country.

The minister said the exceptions given to those holding diplomatic and official passports was in accordance with the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations 1961. 

He mentioned the government will consider allowing this category of visitors subject to existing Covid-19 protocols.